Don't Miss

[Article] – 2014 BAFTAs – All Winners & Nominations


Posted February 17, 2014 by

Full Article

The following is a full list of the 2014 BAFTA winners & nominees. While most expectations have been met, with ‘Gravity’ & ’12 Years A Slave’ scooping the main awards, there are always surprises. In addition, 2014 saw a great year for British Cinema, with the awards for Best Picture, Writer, Actor & Actress all going to a British recipient:

Best Picture

12 Years a Slave [Winner]
American Hustle
Captain Phillips


Best British Film

Gravity [Winner]
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom
Saving Mr Banks
The Selfish Giant

Best Director

Alfonso Cuarón – Gravity [Winner]
Paul Greengrass – Captain Phillips
Steve McQueen – 12 Years a Slave
David O Russell – American Hustle
Martin Scorsese – The Wolf of Wall Street

Film Review Gravity

Best Actor

Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a Slave [Winner]
Christian Bale – American Hustle
Bruce Dern – Nebraska
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street
Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips

Best Actress

Cate Blanchett – Blue Jasmine [Winner]
Amy Adams – American Hustle
Sandra Bullock – Gravity
Judi Dench – Philomena
Emma Thompson – Saving Mr Banks


Best Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips [Winner]
Bradley Cooper – American Hustle
Daniel Brühl – Rush
Matt Damon – Behind the Candelabra
Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave


Best Supporting Actress

Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle [Winner]
Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine
Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave
Julia Roberts – August: Osage County
Oprah Winfrey – The Butler

Best Original Screenplay

American Hustle – Eric Warren Singer & David O Russell [Winner]
Blue Jasmine – Woody Allen
Gravity – Alfonso Cuarón & Jonás Cuarón
Inside Llewyn Davis – Joel Coen & Ethan Coen
Nebraska – Bob Nelson


Best Adapted Screenplay

Philomena – Steve Coogan & Jeff Pope [Winner]
12 Years a Slave – John Ridley
Behind the Candelabra – Richard LaGravenese
Captain Phillips – Billy Ray
The Wolf of Wall Street – Terence Winter

Best Animation

"FROZEN" (Pictured) ELSA. ©2013 Disney. All Rights Reserved.

Frozen – Chris Buck & Jennifer Lee [Winner]
Despicable Me 2 – Chris Renaud & Pierre Coffin
Monsters University – Dan Scanlon

Best Cinematography

Gravity – Emmanuel Lubezki [Winner]
12 Years a Slave – Sean Bobbitt
Captain Phillips – Barry Ackroyd
Inside Llewyn Davis – Bruno Delbonnel
Nebraska – Phedon Papamichael

Best Editing

Rush – Dan Hanley & Mike Hill [Winner]
12 Years a Slave – Joe Walker
Captain Phillips – Christopher Rouse
Gravity – Alfonso Cuarón & Mark Sanger
The Wolf of Wall Street – Thelma Schoonmaker


Best Foreign

The Great Beauty – Paolo Sorrentino, Nicola Giuliano & Francesca Cima [Winner]
The Act of Killing – Joshua Oppenheimer & Signe Byrge Sørensen
Blue Is the Warmest Colour – Abdellatif Kechiche, Brahim Chioua & Vincent Maraval
Metro Manila – Sean Ellis & Mathilde Charpentier
Wadjda – Haifaa Al-Mansour, Gerhard Meixner & Roman Pau

The Great Beauty aka La Grande Bellezza film still

Best Documentary

The Act of Killing – Joshua Oppenheimer [Winner]
The Armstrong Lie – Alex Gibney
Blackfish – Gabriela Cowperthwaite,
Tim’s Vermeer – Teller, Penn Jillette & Farley Ziegler
We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks – Alex Gibney

Best Production Design

The Great Gatsby – Catherine Martin & Beverley Dunn [Winner]
12 Years a Slave – Adam Stockhausen & Alice Baker
American Hustle – Judy BeckeR & Heather Loeffler
Behind the Candelabra – Howard Cummings
Gravity – Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin & Joanne Woodlard


Best Costume Design

The Great Gatsby – Catherine Martin [Winner]
American Hustle – Michael Wilkinson
Behind the Candelabra – Ellen Mirojnick
The Invisible Woman – Michael O’Connor
Saving Mr Banks – Daniel Orlandi

Best Make Up & Hair

American Hustle – Evelyne Noraz & Lori McCoy-Bell [Winner]
Behind the Candelabra – Kate Biscoe & Marie Larkin
The Butler – Debra Denson, Beverly Jo Pryor & Candace Neal
The Great Gatsby – Maurizio Silvi & Kerry Warn
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Peter Swords King, Richard Taylor & Rick Findlater

Best Sound

Gravity – Glenn Freemantle, Skip Lievsay, Christopher Benstead, Niv Adiri & Chris Munro [Winner]
All Is Lost – Richard Hymns, Steve Boeddeker, Brandon Proctor, Micah Bloomberg & Gillian Arthur
Captain Phillips – Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith, Chris Munro & Oliver Tarney
Inside Llewyn Davis – Peter F. Kurland, Skip Lievsay & Greg Orloff
Rush – Danny Hambrook, Martin Steyer, Stefan Korte, Markus Stemler & Frank Kruse

Best Original Music

Gravity – Steven Price [Winner]
12 Years a Slave – Hans Zimmer
The Book Thief – John Williams
Captain Phillips – Henry Jackman
Saving Mr Banks – Thomas Newman


Best Special Visual Effects

Gravity – Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, David Shirk, Neil Corbould & Nikki Penny [Winner]
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug – Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton & Eric Reynolds
Iron Man 3 – Bryan Grill, Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams & Dan Sudick
Pacific Rim – Hal Hickel, John Knoll, Lindy DeQuattro & Nigel Sumner
Star Trek Into Darkness – Ben Grossmann, Burt Dalton, Patrick Tubach & Roger Guyett

Best British Short Animation

Sleeping with the Fishes – James Walker, Sarah Woolner & Yousif Al-Khalifa [Winner]
Everything I can see from Here – Bjørn-Erik Aschim, Friederike Nicolaus & Sam Taylor
I Am Tom Moody – Ainslie Henderson

Best British Short Film

Room 8 – James W. Griffiths, Sophie Venner [Winner]
Island Queen – Ben Mallaby & Nat Luurtsema
Keeping up with Joneses – Megan Rubens, Michael Pearce & Selina Lim
Orbit Ever After – Chee-Lan Chan, Jamie Stone & Len Rowles
Sea View – Anna Duffield & Jane Linfoot


Outstanding Debut By a British Writer, Director or Producer

Keiran Evans (Director/Writer) – Kelly + Victor [Winner]
Colin Carberry, (Writer), Glenn Patterson (Writer) – Good Vibrations
Kelly Marcel, (Writer) – Saving Mr Banks
Paul Wright (Director/Writer), Polly Stokes (Producer) – For Those in Peril
Scott Graham, (Director/Writer) – Shell

The EE Rising Star Award

Will Poulter [Winner]
Dane DeHaan
George MacKay
Lupita Nyong’o
Léa Seydoux


Do you agree with the winners? Leave a comment with your thoughts!

Read Similar Articles?…

Best Film – The Oscars 2014
The 2015 Golden Globe Nominations!
The 2016 Golden Globe Nominations!

Reviews | Joint Reviews | Articles | Debates | Promotions | Interviews |

Written by:

FD twitter

Adam Snowden
Website Administrator

Join The Debate! Leave us a comment…


Be the first to comment!

Leave a Response


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.